Q&A with Duo Yun (2014-15 alumni)

It’s great to hear what recent alumni have been up to. Most recently, Duo Yun has been contact …

  1. Why did you choose GMM at WSA/University of Southampton?

    I got my bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and wanted to pursue a communication & media management role in the future. I did some research of related programmes in the UK before I started my applications and found that the course structure of the GMM at WSA aroused my interest a lot.

  1. What are you currently doing?

    I’m working with a marketing team at a consulting firm in London, which is really rewarding and helps me build a clearer career perspective in the future. I did enjoy the marketing work in London. Besides, I’ve got tremendous practical skills from the business operations.A particular achievement was leading the company’s social media accounts including Weibo, WeChat, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter. I expanded THE company’s Weibo followers from around 18,000 to more than 50,000, and the WeChat followers from 1,400 to 5,000 through active involvement in online career events as well as marketing strategies in 6 months

  1. In what ways does your time on GMM and at WSA/University of Southampton help you with this?

    As an international student, the studying experience at WSA helped me adapt myself into British cultural. I met some great local friends which improved my language level and helped me eliminate the language barrier to a large extent. It also helped me develop a critical thinking mind and be creative. Even when I work as a marketer, I always keep a keen eye on digital trends.

  1. Advice to current GMM students

    Try to go out the comfort zone and be confident. If you are not a native speaker, you should make more effort to improve your English make more friends. Be brave and enjoy your study life in WSA. One day you will realise that all your endeavour is worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

